I have to be honest Sydney, Australia is not at all budget minded. Status is still driven by labels. The recession has just NOT bitten down as hard on this economy and many women are still in denial about the nature of thrift smarts. Perhaps as a result I get to scoop up incredible bargains on the best shopping street in Sydney. Vinnies is a second hand chairity store tat has gone mainstream and locates itself on prominent main streets. The Vinnies in Paddington have designer clothes, really HOT 1980s French heels and banal basics at rock bottom prices. Oddly enough they are located directly opposite my bank. So when I stumble onto the street feeling a teensy bit broke baroque I know that the retail therapy I seek is only going to burn a fifty dollar note. I haven’t worn the Charles Jourdan silk faille heels (with $35 scrawled across their soles) but the polyester chiffon maxi dress with the hopelessly 90s front ruffle is in heavy rotation. I love fashion to be a bit OFF. A bit like costume. A bit like a weird drawing. Further up the road at the Red Cross shop a pair of black leather high heeled ankle boots were also $35. Yes. I weakened. And, a few nights later, dancing in the hot summer wind to the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion in my cheap, hot, high black boots I felt the splendour of vintage rock and roll style: affordable, spontaneous, so, so last year, so so NOW.

