Seven days to Christmas and the people who are not getting books or artworks are getting….um, the contents of my accessory drawer? Yes, tonight I am getting out all my vintage silk scarves, belts that don’t fit, Kidd opera gloves, tiny old handbags and even hats and having a good long goodbye session, sprucing them up as home spun gifts. Next year I am moving and with me I want to carry much, much less. Happily I know my friends well and I know exactly what they will fancy. Recently I saw an article in Harper’s Bazaar that described the fancy thrift store arcade that Barbra Streisand has built in the basement of her mansion. Well, I don’t have Bab’s stash but I am amazed at what I am willing to part with this year. Do you feel the same? So as to avoid post holiday regret here is my guideline about what to re-gift and why. This year be sure and up-cycle from every corner of your house. It’s not just ‘free’, it deliciously liberating!

What can you spare? Re-gift anything that…

You have not worn for twelve months
Absolutely doesn’t fit and never will
Is an accessory you really REALLY never wear (like a ruffled umbrella or a camisole or a big chunky bracelet that gathers dust on a shelf)
That is still in the box/bag with tags but pretty useless to you
That is deeply personal and well loved (favourite tea cups are great gifts when you have too many)
That needs a younger woman to carry it off (bright red dresses are like that)
That just needs new buttons or a bit of lace to smarten it up (like a lovely cardigan in the wrong shade)
That is a project you will never finish (needlework kit, dress pattern and so forth…)